Orbis Investments’ donations

Over the last 12 months Cambridge and Coleridge AC have been very fortunate to receive two substantial donations from Orbis Investments as part of their philanthropic Buchanan Programme, totalling 10s of thousands. These have been incredibly generous donations and on behalf of the whole club I’d like to repeat our wholehearted thanks. The full details of these donations can be found at the end of this note.

The view of the committee has been that these funds should be used to benefit multiple different constituents of our members and that we should focus the spending on creating legacy for the future.

One of the first items we were able to fund is the installation of shelters at the track, the first of which have been installed already. The University of Cambridge, of course, is responsible for the facility so any changes we propose have to be in partnership with them – they will be responsible for future maintenance, for example. We have also approved a new storage unit for the racing wheelchairs and Race runners that the club uses for its para athletes.

We have now set up a small working team to gather ideas together (there are a few already) and this team, led by Mo Park, will deliver their recommendations for spending the money early in the new year. If you have suggestions, please talk to Mo directly or email him on investideas@cambridgeandcoleridge.org.uk

We are tremendously fortunate to have this opportunity so we intend to invest wisely.

Best regards,

Keith Clarke, Chair C&C AC

About the Buchanan Programme

  • The Buchanan Programme is Orbis Investments’ employee-directed philanthropic programme. Established in 2018, the programme aims to inspire and empower the company’s people to effect positive societal change.
    • Under the programme, eligible Orbis employees allocate a gift to charitable giving or to worthy personal causes

About the donation

  • The donation to Cambridge and Coleridge AC has been made through the Buchanan Programme, from Orbis Investments Ltd, as allocated by Chris McGrath